I want to talk to you about everyday routines, and mornings. quote

It’s getting to one of the busiest times of year for most of us. It’s Christmas in just over a week, and yet if you are anything like me you are still grossly underprepared. I woke up this morning with a mountain of chores to do before work, and felt overwhelmed. The Voice in my head started a whirlwind of chatter about how I should be better organised, my partner should pull his weight, I’m too busy… etc. But then I sat down quietly with my coffee and I had an inspired thought.

What if morning chores and everyday routine were a chance for peace?

The house was quiet, and I chose to pay mindful attention as I did the washing up. I went to the launderette listening to the birds in the cool quietness of the morning. I breathed in air. I took my time. I chose not to let whirling grumpy thoughts about all the things that needed doing to get the better of me. Instead of choosing anger and chaos I chose calm and stillness.

No matter what is going on in your life there is always a choice between chaos and stillness. I found that in the most mundane of situations it brought me a clarity that I didn’t think existed.

Especially at Christmas, try and take the opportunity to turn something you do from being a chore and an effort into a moment of peace.

Trust me, it makes all the difference.

