Wow! It’s been a long time since I last posted. I want all my posts to be useful, and recently my mind has been blank… But I’m back! Hi everyone. Let’s launch into today’s topic.

Rebooting your mind?

What if you could wipe your ‘eating’ brain clean? What if you could restart it like a computer? What if you woke up one day to find all your gremlins had gone? How free would you feel?!

This is my goal. Even for just one day, I’d like to have non-stressed encounters with food. I’d like you to have non-stressed encounters with food. Shall we do this together? I’m going to outline some strategies that I think will help soothe our minds and calm our way of eating. Something that I’ve realised is that resolving food problems doesn’t rely solely on something like intuitive eating. It is more about how you feel about yourself and your life, and as a result my pointers include a lot of life-based exercises.

I feel like I’m always posting ‘how tos’ on the same topics, but this journey is nebulous and growing, and topics that need special work keep coming back in various guises.

Below are listed seven steps that I am going to try this week.

windows

7 tips to cleanse your mind

1: I’m going to focus on the here and now.

I’m not going to ruminate about my past or future failings, just concentrate on what is happening right now.

2: I’m going to let my thoughts brush past me like puffs of smoke.

Following on from point 1, if unhelpful thought surface, I’m not going to try and ignore them. I’m going to be indifferent to them, which is far more effective at not letting them have a hold on my brain.

3: I’m going to eat things I like and not judge.

4: I’m going to accept the way things are.

To paraphrase a Buddist teaching, hell where you are but don’t want to be, and the easiest way to get out this misery is to accept what is happening. It doesn’t mean I don’t want to grow, I’ll just accept who I am in this second with the aim of moving forward, and I won’t try and outgun myself.

5: I’ll build a vision of how I want to be.

I am going to imagine how I’d like my life to look without food woes, and imagine that I’m already there. Then I’ll know what to work towards

6: I’m going to be brave.

I’m going to do things that are uncomfortable to get me to where I want to be.

7: There will be no guilt.

If I try and live the best way I can, what is there to feel guilty about? Mistakes are learning experiences.

 

So who’s with me to attempt these steps? Pick one or two if all of them feel a bit daunting to tackle all at once.

Which ones do you think will be most challenging? Which resonate with you?

 

