There is no such thing as an instant fix. And in the run up to the New Year, I’ve been reflecting on how the last year has gone for me, and what still needs improvement. At a time when people traditionally make resolutions that are so giant they are forgotten in a week, I want to talk to you about something very different.

I used to be one of those people that wanted to give up chocolate in the New Year, or eat less, or lose 20lb by February, or become a Hig-Carb-Raw-Vegan. I’d start of well, and after two weeks or so, every year, I’d fall into a pile of chocolate or cookies head-on, and fall into worse habits than I’d tried to give up.

This is why giant New Year’s resolutions never work, because you are trying to do too much at once! As frustrating as it is, baby steps and tiny habits are going to get you much better results than giant leaps where you crash and burn at the end. 

This year, I invite you to treat the New Year differently. Instead of giving up something, say to yourself, what small step can I make to improve my life and make me feel better one day at a time? I can give myself a break from chocolate for one day a week. I won’t drink milk in my coffee one day a week. I’ll walk five minutes round the block after lunch before browsing the internet. I’ll give my head a break from the guilt and mental chatter for an hour in the evening when I get home from work. You can really do anything that you feel is a step towards helping you become the person you want to be.

The beauty of this approach is you can build on it. One thing at a time. The smaller steps you build it up, the greater effect it has. Rewriting habits means you have to almost not recognise what you are doing. This means phasing an old negative habit out with a better, life-affirming one. None of this cold-turkey nonsense. It isn’t sustainable!

This is an approach I am beginning my New Year with. One of my concrete NYRs is to blog regularly again, and I hope you will continue to stick with me!

-Aston

Tell me, what tiny habits will you be adopting to make your 2016 better?

 

Do you like the sound of this approach? I learned about it from Alex Heyne at Modern Health Monk. Check him out (warning though, he talks about weight a lot so if this triggers you stay away…)

