A British cult favourite, the Hitchhiker’s guide to the Galaxy is a very entertaining read. If you haven’t read it, I recommend you read it. This book and the resulting series describes your average guy, namely Arthur Dent, and his extraordinary escapades through space, after Earth is going to be destroyed. It is a trilogy of four, full of wonderful phrases, but I DIGRESS. Here is something useful to todays topic.

Douglas Adams hit the nail on the head when he wrote this phrase:

“The Guide says there is an art to flying”, said Ford, “or rather a knack. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.”
Douglas Adams, Life, the Universe and Everything

How does this apply to food issues? I hear you sigh with annoyance, get to the point Aston!

Anyway, this is a good philosophy about healing. You aren’t automatically going to ‘get’ a balanced, neutral happy relationship with food just like that. And there is no easy or step-by-step way of getting there. People like me can offer the best advice we can, but in the end I’m afraid it is down to you. You know what is right for you.

You have to take a leap of faith. You know what you are currently doing and feeling isn’t working, and you have to be prepared to try what you feel is right, but also accept that you will make mistakes. And that is nothing to be afraid of, you have to pick yourself up and continue forwards. Always forwards. Then eventually yoou will throw yourself at the ground, and resoundly miss.

This was brought into sharp focus for me when I had a brief waver of doubt that something was wrong with how I was eating this week. I kept panicking I was eating too much. But then I realised, it is down to me. I am lucky to eat what I want, when I want, and it is a luxury, but nothing to be ashamed of. This freedom inspires me to tell you:

There is no shame in doing and behaving towards yourself how you feel deep down is right.

Don’t let your head get in the way.

Aston.

