(C) marie claire http://marieclaire.media.ipcdigital.co.uk/11116/000069d98/1b6e_orh100000w440/keira-knightley-50-shades-of-grey-garticle-2.jpg

When I was younger, I had an ambition to be ‘as thin as Keira Knightley’. In my eyes, she was the opitome of perfection, rail thin, with beautifully chiselled features. So I would spend time Googling what she ate, how much she weighed so I could modify the way I was to become more like her. If I could have her body then people would treat me like they treat her. Or so I thought.

Then, I realised that there was no point trying to emulate the way she looked. Why? Because I am me, and dont need to model the way I look on anyone else. I can’t force my body to fit a shape that doesn’t suit it, and I will never be as thin as a rail. That’s okay though, because actually people close to me would start worrying. I stopped wanting to be thin, and gained back my life and self trust.

If I wanted to look like Keira Knightley I would have been worrying about my food and feeling horribly guilty over the holiday season. As it happens, I ate and drank, enjoyed the company, painted, went for walks, saw my friends. It has been great. I still appreciate Keiras looks, but don’t actually want them myself.

Stop comparing yourself to other people, or try to meet a body image ideal. Look good as you are, as its not all about the aesthetic, and everyone is different. Be true to who you really are, because being you opens the gateway to everything else you want out of life.

